Dorky Smile

By: Jehan Alfarra

Ever had one of those days where you feel like you just want to go home after this long, boring day at uni? And you hastily get in the car and impatiently start cursing the apathetic taxi driver who REALLY takes his time?

Well, check out what happened the other day.

I was so grumpy that a little kid woulda probably ran off crying had he seen that look on my face, especially after this one lecture that I have to attend every freaking time for the sake of the attendance marks which make up 10% of my grade! You really don’t want to get me started on how pointless, stupid, useless, silly, and rediculous that lecture is. This lecturer dude keeps jabbering nonsense torturing my brain cells to the point where I’d rather spend all day long watching two people play chess, or even do yoga!

Anyway, back to what I was saying. So, I got in the taxi so eager to just get home, fill my hungry stomach, lay back in my bed and enjoy a peaceful nap. The car got going, then all of a sudden my eyes glanced this something! “Is it!!??” I gasped. I stuck my head out of the window like some weirdo only to find out that it WAS!

Consumed in these childish feeling, I asked the driver to stop the car immediately and drop me off.

I stood there with this HUGE dorky smile on my face and read “Gaza Hasta Victoria Siempr”
I thought to myself “What on earth does that mean?!!” Then I grabbed my phone from my purse, still grinning, and “snap” – Photo taken. I walked home giggling and remembering his “at least you have toilets that function in Gaza, unlike Libya” remark. It was Shahid, a Road-to-Hope convoyer who made it to Gaza after a six-week long journey, who drew this. It was just the other day that I met him and he was telling me all about these drawings of his Dedposh monster (Dedposh is his middle name ^_^). Now he ‘s in England and am there standing in front of his painting. It really made my day. Little silly things like these can really make your day in Gaza.

The very next day, I had a job interview. It happened to be the 10th of December, the national commemoration of PFLP’s 42nd anniversary; in other words, the streets were PACKED with demonstrators. I had to take the long way, and as the streets were closed in the area, I had to WALK. “Darn it!” I muttered, not knowing that I will find FOUR more of Shahid’s Dedposh monster paintings in that SAME BLOCK!😀

There it goes again; that same dorky smile! Who said I had a problem taking the longer route!!? ^_^

7 responses

  1. you just drew a dorky smile on my face🙂
    ha3!

    December 20, 2010 at 5:59 pm

  2. insert_username

    Dedposh? A play on the words “dead” and “posh”, probably meaning extremely affluent. Nice post, shame about the dorks😉

    December 20, 2010 at 6:46 pm

  3. anonymous fame seeker

    you get to see alot when taking the scenic route… the trick is to look at everything as if for the first time with a sense of childish disbelief….

    Love it. Love Gaza
    🙂

    December 20, 2010 at 9:40 pm

  4. http://abuelsharif.com/abuelsharif/2010/12/17/introducing-dedposh-2/

    http://abuelsharif.com/abuelsharif/2010/12/02/the-case-of-the-mysterious-graffiti/

    December 21, 2010 at 2:42 pm

  5. Omar M

    lol
    nice post

    I always see them everwhere😀

    December 26, 2010 at 5:20 pm

  6. ur post is a music to my ear
    thnx

    February 11, 2011 at 6:02 pm

  7. Pingback: From Gaza To Haters of Ken O’Keefe « And Thereby Hangs A Tale…

Leave a Reply

