Archive for January 7, 2011

The sooner the better??

By: Jehan Alfarra

“Pleaaaaaaaaaaase let it be tomorrow!! Actually now, now, nowwww!!! I want the second war now, come on Israel, come on!!! Oh God, please!!” my two sisters just began crying out while running in circles in the living room as I told them that four IDF soldiers have been wounded in border clashes with the Palestinian Resistance. “Heeeeeeeey!!!” I shouted at them, puzzled and incensed. “Look! It’s going to happen anyway, that is out of question, whether it was now or in a month. So, it’s better if they attack now! That way we won’t have to study for the finals!!!! Or do you want them to start bombing right after the finals and then ruin our winter break!?? Or if we die, do you want us to have been hot and bothered by studying and finals during the last days of our lives? They might as well save us the trouble!” one of my sisters responded.

Their attitude boggles my mind. Perhaps I shouldn’t be so startled though; I have grown somewhat indifferent to such things myself. And frankly, they do have a point. Am all worked up and trying to study for my finals this week. I wonder if Israel will indeed give us a new Cast Lead soon.

(more…)