The sooner the better??

By: Jehan Alfarra

“Pleaaaaaaaaaaase let it be tomorrow!! Actually now, now, nowwww!!! I want the second war now, come on Israel, come on!!! Oh God, please!!” my two sisters just began crying out while running in circles in the living room as I told them that four IDF soldiers have been wounded in border clashes with the Palestinian Resistance. “Heeeeeeeey!!!” I shouted at them, puzzled and incensed. “Look! It’s going to happen anyway, that is out of question, whether it was now or in a month. So, it’s better if they attack now! That way we won’t have to study for the finals!!!! Or do you want them to start bombing right after the finals and then ruin our winter break!?? Or if we die, do you want us to have been hot and bothered by studying and finals during the last days of our lives? They might as well save us the trouble!” one of my sisters responded.

Their attitude boggles my mind. Perhaps I shouldn’t be so startled though; I have grown somewhat indifferent to such things myself. And frankly, they do have a point. Am all worked up and trying to study for my finals this week. I wonder if Israel will indeed give us a new Cast Lead soon.

It’s 11:10 pm. It’s been a couple of hours now since the border clashes incident, and still no bombing. My mother and I have already cracked the windows of the house open, and pushed the beds away from the windows. I wonder what the night is hiding for us. Or do they want to mess with our feelings and keep us nervous all night long, AND tomorrow?

Everyone seems to be expecting something real frightening, and from past experience, Israel hits when most unexpected. It kind of gives me comfort. But, 4 have been wounded! I don’t know. I’ll wait and see.

http://www.jpost.com/Defense/Article.aspx?id=202626

…………………………………………………………………………….

Added at 12: 10

Turns out that it was friendly fire!! lol

http://www.maannews.net/eng/ViewDetails.aspx?ID=349089

http://www.haaretz.com/news/diplomacy-defense/idf-soldier-killed-4-wounded-in-firefight-on-gaza-border-1.335826

Hmm…

7 responses

  1. “But, 4 have been wounded! I don’t know. I’ll wait and see.”

    One killed, 4 wounded.

    http://www.haaretz.com/news/diplomacy-defense/idf-soldier-killed-4-wounded-in-firefight-on-gaza-border-1.335826

    January 7, 2011 at 10:13 pm

  2. Ahmed Hashem

    Happy Dreams Girls … don’t worry it’s gonna be alright ISA

    January 7, 2011 at 11:39 pm

  3. Wess

    🙂 nice article, sorry you were in a panic. But your sister had a point when she talked about the finals 😛

    January 8, 2011 at 1:01 pm

  4. insert_username

    Oh well, they certainly can’t start a war for stupidly shelling themselves. Don’t worry though, they’ll find other excuses, so stay prepared and stock up on those supplies.

    January 8, 2011 at 2:49 pm

  5. “turns out that it was friendly fire!!”

    Friendly fire…
    The term just cracked me up this morning, I don’t know why, but it did

    January 8, 2011 at 6:28 pm

  6. short and simple .. nice article!

    take it easy. maybe everything will just twist to another unexpected situation .. maybe better and maybe worse. i hope it would be better, who knows =)

    January 9, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Leave a comment